The First word
33,50 $

The first word

CHRISTINE KENNEALLY


The First word

CHRISTINE KENNEALLY

33,50 $ 33,50 $
Régulier: 33,50 $
Rabais: 0,00 $ (0%)
Livre en anglais
Habituellement expédié en 2 à 12 semaines
Résumé
A compelling look at the quest for the origins of human language from an accomplished linguist Language is a distinctly human gift. However, because it leaves no permanent trace, its evolution has long been a mystery, and it is only in the last fifteen years that we have begun to understand how language came into being. The First Word is the compelling story of the quest for the origins of human language. The book follows two intertwined narratives. The first is an account of how language developed - how the random and layered processes of evolution wound together to produce a talking animal: us. The second addresses why scientists are at last able to explore the subject. For more than a hundred years, language evolution was considered a scientific taboo. Kenneally focuses on figures like Noam Chomsky and Steven Pinker, along with cognitive scientists, biologists, geneticists, and animal researchers, in order to answer the fundamental question: Is language a uniquely human phenomenon? The First Word is the first book of its kind written for a general audience. Sure to appeal to fans of Steven Pinker's The Language Instinct and Jared Diamond's Guns, Germs, and Steel, Kenneally's book is set to join them as a seminal account of human history.
Détails
Titre
The First word
Éditeur
Prix
33,50 $
Format Poche
Non
Langue
Anglais/English
Date de publication
2007-08-02
ISBN
0670034908
Code Interne
868968
Numéro de produit
185509935

Notre conseil

Avant de vous déplacer, nous vous recommandons de téléphoner au magasin pour vérifier le stock.

Ville: (Changer).

exemplaire(s)
Ce produit est actuellement non disponible en magasin.
Nous n'avons pas pu trouver une succursale pour le code postal donné. Veuillez en essayer un autre.